Interlude

In these interludes of life

I sit back in my little respite

The seat’s too hard for my head, it wants to fly

But my body says it’s not the time.

Music syncs to the sway of the bus

City come in, did the country pass?

I fell asleep when it started to rain

I could be in an evening train.

People in a hurry, headed nowhere

I watch and pretend to understand and know

Just following the transmission lines

They always have somewhere to go.

Familiar streets, that I don’t recognize

And through the drops on my window

I thought I saw you in your favorite coat

And bits of a dream start to flow.

Headed home to resume my life

The Sun chases us into the night.
—-

Leave a Reply

